Registered Sex Offenders

On January 1, 2008, Ohio’s Sex Offender Registration laws changed. Ohio became one of the first States in the nation to adopt the provisions of the Adam Walsh Act.

The Adam Walsh Act replaces previous sex offender classification designations such as Sexual Predator, Habitual Sex Offender or Sexually Oriented Offender, with Tier classification designations. The Tier classification designations for sex offenders are determined by the criminal offense upon which the offender was convicted.

The County Sheriff is responsible under Ohio law for the registration of sex offenders. Sex offenders must register with the County Sheriff on a periodic basis depending on which Tier classification they fall under. In addition, sex offenders must register with the County Sheriff any change of residential address, place of employment, or enrollment in a school or institution of higher education.

 


 

SEE REGISTERED SEX OFFENDERS IN YOUR AREA

To see registered sex offenders in your area, you can view them at the Logan County Sheriff’s Office page or at the  Ohio Attorney General’s page.

 

 


 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS


1.  What does Ohio law require a sexual offender to do?

For sexual offenders convicted after January 1, 2008:

Tier I:

Sex offenders must register with the County Sheriff at least once annually for a period of 15 years. In addition, they must register any change of residential address, place of employment, or enrollment in a school or institution of higher education.

Tier II:

Sex offenders must register with the County Sheriff every 180 days for a period of 25 years. In addition, they must register any change of residential address, place of employment, or enrollment in a school or institution of higher education.

Tier III:

Sex offenders must register with the County Sheriff every 90 days for life. In addition, they must register any change of residential address, place of employment, or enrollment in a school or institution of higher education.

 

Note:    Tier III sex offenders may also be subject to community notification, which means upon a change of residential address, the County Sheriff will provide notice to a neighborhood within 1000 feet of the sex offenders’ residential address. The County Sheriff will also provide notice to schools, registered day-care providers, and law enforcement agencies within the county.

If the Sexual Offender was labeled prior to January 1, 2008:

Sexually Oriented Offender:

Sex offenders must register with the County Sheriff at least once annually for a period of 10 years.

Habitual Sex Offender:

Sex offenders must register with the County Sheriff at least once annually for a period of 20 years.

Sexual Predator:

Sex offenders must register with the County Sheriff every 90 days for life.

 

2.  Are there any restrictions on where registered sex offenders can live?

Sexual offenders may not reside within 1000 feet of any school premises or state licensed daycare/pre-school.

 

3.  The other day, I saw a sex offender walking in a public park. Isn't that against the law?

Sexual offenders are still permitted to be in public places and even at various school events. There is nothing in the law that prohibits a sexual offender from attending a public event. The only restriction is where they reside.

 

4.  I recently recognized a sexual offender living in a nearby residence and when I checked the Sheriff’s website, the address for the offender is different. What should I do?

You should call the Logan County Sheriff’s Office (937-592-5731) and report the information.